Prepping for the Breckenridge Spartan Beast

BIB: 6352 Loveland, CO  Beast 11:15 A.M.

BeastThe race is this Saturday, June 13th 2015.  It will start and finish in Beaver Run Resort’s backyard; the base of Peak 9 in Breckenridge, Colorado. Looking at the webcam there is snow on the ground, so that will add an interesting element to this race.  I have done the Spartan Sprint and another OCR, but as this will be a wholly new experience for me I have been over preparing as usual. This will also be my second race for the Spartan Trifecta and the most difficult of the three races. I will have the Spartan Super left to do so I can become a Trifecta Tribe member.  So in Breckenridge, with the temperature, a possibility of snow/rain, elevation gain and loss, time and distance there are a lot of things to consider; clothing, shoes, Garmin Forerunner 410 watch, headlamp (people get pulled from the course without after sunset), GoPro, and food/electrolytes/water: As for these three latter, but very important things, I have to be smart and be light.  As for hydration I purchased a Geigerrig hydration pack after much research.  This is the same brand that the Spartan Race endorses and from the testimonials I have seen can withstand the race and so much more.  The thing I like the most about it is the ability to use an air pump to shoot the water from the mouth piece, rather than sucking it out.  This feature is very important when it’s covered in mud.  I purchased “The Rig“, one of their smaller packs at 1.95 lbs, 17.5″ length and 9” width.  This pack uses ballistic nylon, excellent, and has the pump feature I mentioned, most excellent.  On the inside of the rear flap is a zipper pocket where I plan to stuff my edibles for the race.  This will include MET Rx electrolyte gummies (2packs), 1 Gatorade Gummy pack, a MET Rx Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough bar for a “meal” (about half-way through the race) and some Gels that I need to pick up.  I’m looking at the Gu brand but there’s a lot of ingredients, I may go with the Honey Stinger ones instead.  There will supposedly be a couple water stations during the race so I hope to refill my hydration bladder at these areas and move on.

As for clothes, I am much more prepared for this race than I was for the Military Sprint I did in 40 deg weather wespartanshoesaring almost nothing.   I have CW-X Compression pants, Reebok Spartan All-Terrain Super shoes, Merino wool shirt, wool socks, under armor cold compression shirt (for under the wool, itchy) and I may do an Under Armor skull cap.  On my head I will be wearing my GoPro Hero 3 Black and will turn it on for the obstacles.  It’s hard to explain what goes on during this race to someone who has not run it before, so this will be proof that we kick ass and have our asses kicked during this race; by the obstacles, the mountain and then the warriors at the end.

Lastly for a headlamp, just in case I don’t make it before dark, I went with the Black Diamond Cosmo Headlamp.  Hopefully I won’t need it with an 11:15 am start time.

Peak 9 Base Breckenridge, Colorado

  • Beaver Run Resort – Peak 9 Base
  • Current Image and Forecast for Saturday
  • Partial cloudiness early, with scattered showers and thunderstorms in the afternoon. High near 65F. Winds NW at 10 to 15 mph. Chance of rain 40%.
Leave a Reply

